Stepping into the kitchen

Hi! This is my first blog post so please bear with me…

My name is Hayley and I suffer from anxiety. I won’t go into too much detail now but anyone who suffers from this or knows someone who does will know that it is an awful condition. I have tried various things over the last few years, including telling myself to “snap out of it!”, trust me that doesn’t work! I am on medication at the moment but I want to come off the tablets soon so I’m not dependent on them. So I’ve decided to try a new tact, that is why I have started this blog.

I want to know if I can reduce my anxiety by eating better. At this point I want to say that I do eat pretty healthily, I eat a lot of vegetables and only ever have takeaways or junk food as an odd treat. However there is definitely room for improvement, I have a sweet tooth and want to start eating less sugary, processed foods. I also only eat white bread, pasta, rice etc and have read a lot of articles stating that wholegrain foods can help reduce anxiety levels. I don’t know how true this is but I am willing to find out! I would do almost anything to try to reduce my anxiety!

So starting on Monday, the plan is:

  • Change all bread/pasta/rice etc from white to wholegrain
  • Eat my 5 a day of fruit and veg
  • Incorporate foods from my list into the menu as often as possible. This is a list of foods I have collected that according to various articles can help reduce anxiety. I will be posting the list tomorrow. (Note: It is the vitamins and nutrients in the foods, such  as omega 3 and magnesium, that are thought to reduce anxiety by nourishing/balancing the body)

I am in the middle of making a meal plan for the next two weeks, I am going to try it out and hopefully by the end of the plan I will be able to feel the benefits. If it works I will carry on, if it doesn’t then at least I tried.

Wish me luck!

Hayley x

Leave a Reply

