Blog For Mental Health 2014

bfmh14-copy2

“I pledge my commitment to the Blog for Mental Health 2014 Project. I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.”  

It might seem weird that I stumbled across the Blog For Mental Health pledge two days after starting my blog, which focuses on me trying to improve my anxiety through my diet. Personally I see it as a sign, it was supposed to happen and sometimes things just fall into place.

I haven’t wrote much about my personal experiences of anxiety yet. This blog is still a baby and I’m sure one day I will write more openly about how my anxiety effects me. I find it difficult to talk about as I spent years hiding my anxiety from everyone. I was only 14 when it all started and with the stigma of mental health and my own naivety, I thought that if I spoke out about what was happening with me, I would be alienated by friends and family or worse, taken to some kind of mental hospital. Now I know that none of that would have happened, unless I posed a danger to myself or others. Plus if anyone did turn their back on me because of my condition, they wouldn’t have been real friends!

The stigma that I mentioned earlier is the reason that I decided to sign up to BFMH 2014. I feel that everyone should do what they can to reduce the stigma, 1 in 4 people will suffer from some kind of mental health problem at some point of their life so why do whose who are suffering feel like such a minority?

If you would like to pledge to Blog For Mental Health in 2014, visit A Canvas Of The Minds for all of the info.

Bye for now,

Hayley x

5 thoughts on “Blog For Mental Health 2014

  1. Sounds like the perfect sign to me! I love the name of your blog- it fits your mission perfectly 🙂 Anxiety can be such an awful thing to live with- I’ve had it so bad that I really thought I was going to die when it was at its worst. But yay for treatment and yay for support!

    • Thanks =) I spent a long time trying to think of a name that sounded good and reflects what I am trying to do. Yes anxiety is awful, especially when those around you don’t really understand! You’re right yay for treatment and support! =)

  2. Pingback: Calm Kitchen | The Official Blog For Mental Health Project

Leave a Reply

