Italian vegetable soup

Today I decided to whip up a big batch of soup. I am going to freeze what is left so that I can have some for lunch one day next week. This is my version of the Italian vegetable soup recipe available on the BBC Good Food website.  I have made a few changes and my version makes enough for 4/5 portions, rather than 8 which is how many the original recipe makes. I find it easier this way as my freezer is quite small!

Italian Vegetable Soup

  • Servings: 4-5
  • Time: 1 hour 10 minutes
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 chopped onion
  • 1 chopped carrot
  • 1 chopped courgette
  • 1 chopped pepper, any colour
  • 2 sticks of celery, chopped
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 tsp dried mixed herbs
  • 200g canned butterbeans, drained
  • 200g can/carton chopped tomatoes
  • 1.5l vegetable stock (use 2 stock cubes)
  • 1 tbsp tomato puree
  • 100g small pasta shapes

2014-01-25 13.06.28

 

  1. Cook the onion, carrot and celery in the oil in a large saucepan for 20 minutes. Add a splash of water if they stick.
  2. Add the puree, garlic, courgettes and pepper and cook on a medium heat for 5 minutes.
  3. Pour in the beans, stock and tomatoes and sprinkle over the mixed herbs. Simmer for 20 minutes, then add the pasta and simmer for another 10 minutes.

2014-01-25 13.23.42

2014-01-25 13.24.09

This was delicious, especially with a couple of slices of whole grain bread =) There is plenty left over for next week when I officially start my healthy eating plan. I’ll be posting more details about that tomorrow. Let me know if you make this soup!

Hayley x

One thought on “Italian vegetable soup

  1. Pingback: Going wholegrain! | Calm Kitchen

Leave a Reply

