Going wholegrain!

Today is the first day of my healthy eating plan! My biggest reservation about doing this was the fact that I would be going wholegrain… I have always been a white bread/pasta/rice kind of person. Is there anything better than a soft, crusty slice of white bread with butter? Mmmm… Sorry, I’m going off topic!

Anyway, I picked up a crusty wholegrain loaf from Asda and it is delicious! Its still soft in the middle and if anything the grains give it more flavour! I had some with my Italian veg soup, which was today’s lunch and it was lush!

2014-01-25 13.24.09

 

 

The other thing that I thought may be a problem was my sweet tooth but thanks to Pinterest I found loads of muffin and cake recipes that are made with wholegrain flour. I’m sure I’ll be trying some of those out at some point! I already had a recipe for wholegrain flapjacks/breakfast bars, which I made today. The thing I love most about these is that you can use any kind of dried fruit and nuts and you can experiment with combinations. Today I used dried blueberries, cherries, cranberries, raisins and sultanas and mixed chopped nuts. They taste great! If anyone wants the recipe, comment below and I’ll post it =)

The pictures are taken before I cut the slab into individual squares. It made 12 portions, 3 of which have already vanished! Turns out my Mam likes them too =)

2014-01-27 16.24.10

 

2014-01-27 16.23.54

So day one has been a success and I’ve surprised myself by actually liking wholegrain bread! So far so good =)

Hayley x

Leave a Reply

