Little steps for February

I’m not really one for New Years resolutions, I tend to set myself big, unrealistic goals and give up after a few weeks. This year however, I wanted to really make a difference so I have one big goal, which is to reduce my anxiety. Every month I am going to take little steps which by the end of the year should hopefully make a big difference!

For January my main goal was to do research and decide how I wanted to continue. I had thought of starting a blog but wasn’t sure if I was ready to take the leap. I did a lot of reading and stumbled on an article for foods that can help reduce anxiety. As soon as I read it I knew what I wanted to do, I wanted to make myself an anti-anxiety diet and try it out and most importantly, report back on this blog so that my findings may help someone else.

So I’ve been thinking hard and my little steps for February are:

  • Try to get into a decent sleep pattern. Whenever I go to bed my brain decides to wake up and go into overdrive. Plans, ideas and worries always come to the front of my mind when I am trying to get to sleep. So I am going to try to address that this month.
  • Drink more water (or at least more fluids!) I don’t really like plain water but I know that I don’t drink as much as I should. So I’m aiming to drink more and if not water then at least drink more tea/milk/juice/flavored water etc.
  • Enjoy the concert. I am going to a concert at the end of the month, to most people this might not seem like a big deal but to me it is. I feel nervous in crowds and at places like theaters/cinemas where I have to stay for a few hours. I know how silly that sounds but I’m facing those fears by choosing concerts/gigs/plays that I want to see and buying tickets.

So those are my little steps. Do you have any goals for the month?

Hayley x

5 thoughts on “Little steps for February

  1. Wishing you all the best for your journey in February. I have similar issues with sleep and sometimes switch my radio on low to “comfort” me. Sometimes it works but then I start listening to something interesting and don’t want to go to sleep!! D’oh!!

  2. My goals are also, in part, to reduce anxiety, (I have PTSD) and also to help get my fibromyalgia under control.
    1. Mediation, yoga.
    2. Regular low impact cardio
    3. Keep journaling

    May The Force be with us both this month!

  3. Pingback: When inspiration hits | Calm Kitchen

  4. Pingback: Little steps for March | Calm Kitchen

Leave a Reply

