Healthy eating plan: Week 1 summary

Its day 7 of my healthy eating plan so I decided to drop in and share what I have learned so far, as well as next weeks meal plan. This week I made enough soup and pasta salad to do lunch Monday to Friday. Both were delicious and I’m planning to do the same next week!

2014-01-25 13.24.09

So what have I learned this week?

  • That switching to wholegrain is nowhere near as hard as I thought it might be! I haven’t missed white bread at all.
  • I haven’t felt deprived. I did think when I started the plan that it would feel a bit like a diet, that I would be stopping myself from eating foods that I wanted. But in reality all I have done is made healthy swaps. When my sweet tooth kicked in I made wholegrain tea loaf and if I feel in the mood for junk food I can always make homemade, healthier Mcmuffins.
  • Cooking and baking is fun! I thought that cooking and baking everything from scratch might feel like a chore but I have really enjoyed it. Especially when I put some music on =)
  • I feel like I have a bit more energy! Its still early days but I feel fuller for longer and feel like I have a bit more energy. Particularly in the middle of the day when I would sometimes have an energy dip and reach for the biscuit tin…

So up to now its going well! I have made a plan for week 2 and I’m already starting on week 3. The plan for week 2, starting tomorrow is:

Week 2 Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
Breakfast Granola or toast Granola or toast Granola or toast Granola or toast Granola or toast Granola or toast Granola or toast
Lunch Roasted red pepper soup Tuna pasta salad Roasted red pepper soup Tuna pasta salad Wholegrain toast and scrambled egg Chicken and sweetcorn chowder Sunday lunch
Dinner Pork and pearl barley stew Lentil chicken hotpot Lamb chops, mash and veg Gammon, potatoes and veg Veg and swiss cheese gratin Beef, potato and garlic bake Sandwiches

Hopefully it will go as well as this week did!

Bye for now

Hayley x

One thought on “Healthy eating plan: Week 1 summary

  1. Pingback: Healthy eating plan: Week 2 summary | Calm Kitchen

Leave a Reply

