Quick start guide for “anti-anxiety eating”

I’ve had some pretty great results from my healthy eating plan. When I started I wasn’t sure if changing my eating habits could really have an effect on my anxiety levels. I always said that if it did work I would make a guide so that other people could try it for themselves. So here we go…

There aren’t any rules as such but this is how it works:

Swap all white bread/rice/pasta for wholegrain. Wholegrain contains serotonin which is is both calming and mood boosting. I know this sounds weird but I have found it to be true!

Work the following foods into your meals as often as possible. They all have different benefits based on the vitamins and nutrients they contain but if they are any you don’t like, just leave them out.

  • Oily fish such as tuna/salmon: Contains Omega 3 which balances stress hormones
  • Broccoli: Contains vitamin B and folic acid which is thought to relieve stress, anxiety and depression
  • Blueberries: A superfood! Rich in vitamins and antioxidants, they are thought to be great at naturally relieving stress
  • Avocados: Contains potassium and can lower blood pressure (I admit I haven’t tried this one yet… I don’t know what to do with it lol!)
  • Almonds: Contains selenium, magnesium, zinc and vitamin E which boost the immune system
  • Oranges/strawberries/lemons and other fruit that contains vitamin C: Curbs stress hormone levels and boosts the immune system

As well as the above, I have also cut down on processed foods, preferring to cook/bake my own instead. I know this isn’t an option for everyone, so choosing packaged foods with less artificial additives instead may help.

So, want to give it a go? Here is a list of foods to stock your cupboards with to get started. You don’t have to go out and buy them all together, just replacing white grains for wholegrain as they run out is a great place to start!

  • Wholegrain pasta
  • Wholegrain rice
  • Wholegrain bread/buns
  • Wholegrain flour for baking
  • Rolled oats (For porridge and for making granola, recipe here)
  • Tinned tuna (Great for pasta salad or sandwiches)
  • Broccoli
  • Blueberries (Great for snacking or adding to granola/porridge/fruit salad etc)
  • Flaked almonds (Again good for snacking and adding to things)
  • Honey (Great on toast/granola/porridge and used in many recipes as a healthier alternative to sugar)

Well I think that concludes my quick start guide! I’ll be making a recipe page and adding many more recipes over the next few weeks. If you have any questions or suggestions please comment below =)

Hayley x

2 thoughts on “Quick start guide for “anti-anxiety eating”

Leave a Reply

