When inspiration hits

Evening! I am feeling pretty awesome right now and just had to collect my thoughts and get them down on paper (Well, on screen but you know what I mean right?)

In my Little Steps for February post, one of my little steps was to enjoy a concert that I had booked tickets for. Here is the goal I set:

  • Enjoy the concert. I am going to a concert at the end of the month, to most people this might not seem like a big deal but to me it is. I feel nervous in crowds and at places like theaters/cinemas where I have to stay for a few hours. I know how silly that sounds but I’m facing those fears by choosing concerts/gigs/plays that I want to see and buying tickets.

Well the concert was tonight and I had a fantastic time! At one point near the beginning of the concert I did feel a wave of anxiety but I managed to let it wash over me and fade away. One of the most important pieces of advice I have been given is not to focus on or fight the anxiety when it comes. Instead I acknowledge it, relax as best I can and let it fade away.

Now that the concert is over I can tell you more about it. I went to see Richard and Adam who were on Britains Got Talent, remember them? A girl ran onto the stage while they were performing to egg Simon Cowell and they kept singing without missing a note as security rushed onto the stage and bundled her off! Impressive! But for anyone who didn’t watch BGT, Richard and Adam are incredible opera/classical singers and the song they are best known for is one of my favourite old songs, The Impossible Dream.

So imagine this scene: It is the end of the show and this is their encore, the song that made them famous on BGT. I am very pleased with myself for making it to the end of the show without incident. The atmosphere is electric, I can feel the chills running up my spine as the brothers effortlessly belt out the song, the wonderful lyrics hitting home hard. (They aren’t in order by the way)

“I know if I’ll only be true
To this glorious quest
That my heart will be peaceful and calm
When I’m laid to my rest”

“This is my quest, to follow that star. No matter how hopeless no matter how far”

“To dream the impossible dream, to fight the unbeatable foe”

“Strove with his last ounce of courage
To reach the unreachable star”

It was as I took in those powerful lyrics that I was hit by a surge of inspiration. I can overcome my anxiety! I will beat my unbeatable foe! I will build this blog into a resource to help myself and others! I can and I will, just watch me!

I left the hall feeling great and then it got even better… I ended up meeting Richard and Adam! Ahhhhhhhhh =D

I wouldn’t normally post a photo of myself but as its a special occasion…

Me adam and richard

Today was a great day and I am so proud of myself! I am so getting that photo framed!

Hayley x

8 thoughts on “When inspiration hits

  1. Oh, you’re beautiful!

    I am glad you had a good time. I will need to look up that episode, seeing as we have the boring “America’s Got Talent”

  2. Sometimes the Like button needs to be a Love button! I am so very proud of your achievement tonight. Music is such a powerful force, and live it takes it up so many more levels. I’m glad you got a photo with Richard & Adam as any time you dare doubt yourself in the future you can look at it and know better. You’ve come a long way in such a short space of time. Well done, really, well done!! *BIG MASSIVE HUGS*

  3. Pingback: Little steps for March | Calm Kitchen

  4. Pingback: Therapy, progress and frustration | Calm Kitchen

Leave a Reply

