Beef and vegetable pie

As well as eating healthier, I also like to keep food waste to a minimum, so on Mondays I use up the leftover beef or pork from Sunday lunch. I found the recipe I used today on the BBC Good Food website. Its actually meant to be a vegetarian alternative for shepherds pie but being the meat eater that I am, I looked at it and thought “I could add the leftover beef to that.” So needless to say, I have changed the recipe almost beyond recognition… If you want to have a look at the original recipe, it is here. This recipe is packed with veg and contains all 5 portions of your 5 a day! The thing I loved about the recipe is that it is a great base for a potato topped pie and by changing some of the ingredients (like I did) you could create a lot of variations. So here is my variation =)

Beef and vegetable pie

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 onions, sliced (I used 1 red and 1 white)
  • 1 tbsp flour
  • 2 large carrots, cut into small batons
  • Half a cauliflower, broken into small florets
  • Half a head of broccoli, broken into small florets
  • 2 garlic cloves, finely sliced
  • 4 stalks asparagus, chopped
  • 400g can chopped tomatoes
  • 100g frozen peas
  • Half pint beef stock
  • Several slices chopped leftover beef
  • 1 tablespoon dried mixed herbs
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 900g potatoes, cut into chunks
  • up to 200ml/7fl oz milk

Here is my veg chopped and ready! You just know this is gonna be full of vitamins and nutrients =)

2014-02-24 17.03.43

  1. Heat 1 tbsp of the oil in a frying pan. Add the onions and cook for 10 mins until softened, then stir in the flour and cook for a further 2 mins. Add the other chopped veg and beef. Cook for 5 mins, stirring regularly, until the veg begins to soften.
  2. Tip in the tomatoes and stock. Cover with a lid and simmer for 10 mins, then remove the lid and cook for 10-15 mins more, until the sauce has thickened and the vegetables are cooked. Add the peas, mixed herbs and paprika and cook for 1 min more.
  3. Meanwhile, boil the potatoes for 20 mins until tender. Drain and mash. Stir through enough milk to reach a fairly soft consistency, then add the remaining olive oil and season.
  4. Heat the grill. Spoon the hot vegetable mix into a pie dish, top with the mash and drag a fork lightly over the surface. Place under the grill for a few mins until the top is crisp golden brown.

2014-02-24 17.52.19

 

2014-02-24 17.52.30
2014-02-24 17.54.55
This was really nice, the meat was tender and the vegetables were slightly crunchy without being too hard. I’ll definitely make it again and it would work with any leftover meat, you would just swap the stock cube!
If you make this let me know what you think!
Hayley x
5 thoughts on “Beef and vegetable pie

  1. Very impressive. You clearly have a natural talent for this. You make me wanna get in the kitchen and try for myself. I’m sure I’m not the only one who feels like that while reading your blog. Keep up the excellent work!

    • Thank you =) One of these days I will get you into the kitchen lol! I’m going to be writing up a lot more recipes over the next couple of weeks.

      I definitely don’t have a natural talent for cooking but I’m learning! I’ll have to tell you about the “microwave popcorn incident” sometime lol

      • One of these days you’ll get me into the kitchen, huh?! Are you gonna drag me kick and screaming into it?! Ha! Looking forward to hearing about the microwave popcorn incident but no matter what and all jokes aside, you’ve got a talent and you’ve harnessed it wonderfully well by blogging it. Talk about turning a negative into a major positive!

Leave a Reply

