Moroccan red lentil and tomato soup

First up I have a confession to make… I made this soup last week and didn’t get around to posting the recipe… Sorry! Better late than never though, right?

So this recipe came from an old book of Sainsbury’s recipes I found hiding in the bottom of the draw. Two things made me want to try this recipe:

  1. Its very healthy. It contains all of your “5 a day” and has only 273 calories per serving. (Plus now that I have cooked and eaten it, I can tell you it is tasty and very filling!)
  2. At the time it was very wet and windy so I wanted to cook something warm and comforting!

Before we start, I should point out that the recipe said that it made 4 portions but when I made it I found there was actually enough for 6/7 portions! The rest has gone in the freezer for another day =)

Moroccan red lentil and tomato soup 

Ingredients

  • 1 large onion, peeled and chopped
  • 2 sticks celery, finely chopped
  • 1 red pepper, chopped and seeds removed
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon each ground coriander, smoked paprika, ground chilli
  • 1 stick cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon tomato puree
  • 2 teaspoons caster sugar
  • 2 x 390g cartons chopped tomatoes
  • 200g dried red lentils
  • 1 litre vegetable stock
  • 1 tin chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  1. In a food processor, blend the onion, celery, red pepper and garlic into a puree. Heat the oil in a large saucepan and cook the puree for 5 minutes.
  2. Stir in the spices and add the cinnamon stick. Cook for around a minute, until fragrant. Add the tomato puree, sugar, tomatoes, lentils and vegetable stock. Remove the cinnamon stick, bring to the boil, then cover and simmer for 30 minutes.
  3. Tip in the chickpeas and cook for 5 minutes, topping up with water if necessary. Season and stir through the lemon juice before serving.

2014-02-20 13.23.09

I really must get better at taking photos of my creations… This was very filling and yummy. I did wonder how spicy it would be as I don’t like spicy food but it was great, just the slightest hint of spice, perfect for me! Of course you can always add more chilli if you like it hot 😉

Bye for now

Hayley x

Leave a Reply

