Is this helpful?

In my post Anticipatory Anxiety I explained my feelings about starting my new job. At the time I said that I thought I was starting on Friday. Now I know that it will be Sunday instead, I can’t decide if having an extra 2 days to plan/worry is a good thing or a bad thing.

See my biggest problem is that I let anticipatory anxiety tie me up in knots! I can worry about an event weeks ahead, even months ahead once! I’ll try to think of ways to make me less nervous about whatever the event is but most of the time I just come up with exaggerated worries about what might happen. These worries normally revolve around me making a fool of myself, throwing up or having a panic attack in public. Needless to say that doesn’t happen very often, although it has a couple of times. The point is 90% of the time everything is fine so why do I still obsess over it?

It is slightly different this time though because this isn’t just an event, this is a job and I am really aware of the fact that if it goes well on Sunday, everything will be ok. But if it doesn’t go well… Yeah, there’s a lot riding on how I handle my first shift!

I have found one thing that does help, although how effective it is tends to vary. When my thoughts start running away with me, I stop myself and ask one question, “Is this helpful?”. I can tell you that up to now the answer has always been NO. I then try to move myself onto another train of thought. The trick with this technique is remembering to stop yourself when the worrying starts and not getting swept away with it.

I’m working on another idea that will hopefully help me on Sunday when I go to work but more on that later. Its still in the beginnings stages. Do you have any techniques that help you when worrying strikes? Let me know, I’d love to hear from you =)

Bye for now,

Hayley x

2 thoughts on “Is this helpful?

  1. Sounds like a winning formula for you so far and I’d dare say in reality your 90% estimation is a tad low. I cannot wait to hear about your buzz after your first shift on Sunday – for I truly believe that is one blog coming to this website very soon. 🙂 Keep it up and remember all your achievement so far. You can do this. I know you can. *big hugs*

  2. Pingback: Anxiety reducing techniques | Calm Kitchen

Leave a Reply

