Anxiety reducing techniques

Before I start I just want to say that these are techniques that I have found useful. I’m posting them here so that I can’t forget them and in case anyone else finds them helpful. I’m not saying they will work for everyone but let me know if you try them out!

Yesterday was my first shift at my new job and everything went great! It was another case of fretting and worrying for days beforehand, only for everything to be fine, like it is 90% of the time. Anticipatory anxiety is a b*tch!

So here are the things that I found helpful in the run up to and during my first shift.

  1. As mentioned in my last post, stopping myself and asking “Is this helpful?” when the worrying starts. Then I try to move myself on to a different train of thought.
  2. When I’m trying to sleep I’ve noticed that I tense up and curl in a ball when I start feeling anxious. It sounds really silly but if I uncurl myself, spread out and relax my muscles, I immediately feel much calmer!
  3. I still believe that eating healthily makes a huge difference. After all my whole blog is based on that idea!
  4. I like reminding myself of times when I thought “I can’t do this!” but then did it anyway! It puts things into proportion =)
  5. I talked about making myself an “anti-anxiety kit” on Twitter. I haven’t made a proper kit but I do now carry rescue remedy spray and chamomile teabags, in case of emergency. It helps just knowing that they are in my bag.

If you have any techniques or tips to add, just comment below =)

Bye for now,

Hayley x

4 thoughts on “Anxiety reducing techniques

  1. I’m glad to hear it went well! And you’re right, sometimes just knowing that you have the resources “just in case” makes a huge difference 🙂

  2. So glad I’ve found your blog. I suffer from anxiety and am always looking to read more, learn more and share with others. I’ve had CBT and no longer take any meds.

Leave a Reply

