Little steps for April

Really I should have posted this yesterday, sorry for the delay! I was focusing so much on my 2nd shift at my new job that I forgot it was the 1st of the month! Before I go any further, here are last months little steps:

  • Have a go at yoga. I’m going to use videos online to have a try at yoga, if I like it I might even join a class!
  • Reread “Feel the fear and do it anyway” and look out for other helpful books. Last year I read this book by Susan Jeffers and it helped me put things into perspective. I’m going to read it again and have a look for other books that could help me.

I’m ashamed to say I didn’t get very far with the yoga. I watched a couple of videos and tried out some of the positions but that was about it. I did read “Feel the fear and do it anyway” again, admittedly not the whole book but I reread the chapters that I found the most helpful. I bought a couple of new self help books and I’m starting to read them, I’ll let you know what I think once I’m done!

So I’ve been giving this a lot of thought over the last week and this months Little Steps are:

  1. Start a dream diary. In my post The Metaphorical Staircase I described a dream/vision that came to me as I was waking up one morning. I interpreted it as a metaphor for my hope of continuing to improve my anxiety and my fear of slipping and undoing the progress I have already made. I talked this through with my therapist who agreed with me. He thought it was impressive that my dreams were so vivid and that I was working out the meanings. So I’m going to start recording my dreams and the possible meanings, you never know, it could be useful!
  2. Build up my confidence at work. I’ve done 2 shifts up to now and I feel a little more confident/less nervous each time. I hope that over the next month the nerves will go completely as I settle into my new routine.
  3. Find time to relax! Now that I’m back to work (even though its only part time) I’ll try to remember to still make time to relax, whether that is having a bath, watching a movie or getting a massage.

Those are my goals for April, what are yours?

Hayley x

 

2 thoughts on “Little steps for April

  1. Sounds like some great ideas!

    I just left therapy and have to start a dream diary now. Also need to check out that book 🙂

Leave a Reply

