Uncertainty

This post kind of follows on from a discussion I had on Twitter yesterday. Actually scratch that, this post has been floating around in my head for a week, its like I’ve been mulling it over for a while but yesterday it came to a head and I wanted other peoples perspectives. So naturally I headed to Twitter! I wanted to know if other people with anxiety struggled with uncertainty. I do. I have my new job which I love but due to circumstances that I can’t discuss, I am now faced with a lot of uncertainty and its making me feel edgy. Yesterday I spent most of the day waiting for a text that would confirm if I was working that night or not. The waiting about was really frustrating me, I knew I would be fine once I knew one way or the other.

As it turns out, I’m definitely not the only one and it kind of makes sense. We crave control, we want to be able to control what will happen, how we will feel, what the outcome will be etc, if we are not certain of the details then we feel out of control. We want certainty. Unfortunately life is uncertain! So what can we do? Accept that there are things we can’t control and let them go? Much easier said than done but that’s what I’m trying right now.

Does uncertainty affect you? How do you handle it? Let me know in the comments below =)

Take care,

Hayley x

2 thoughts on “Uncertainty

  1. I think for some things I have learned to let go, but a job issue would /does give anxiety more than I can usually handle. I have medication for true crises and try to practice DBT techniques to try to keep it under control early on.

Leave a Reply

