Thinking out loud

funny-frog-therapist-hands

A therapist frog would be an awesome pet!

I got some news today. I’m not sure how I feel about it right now and I figured typing it out might help. So I’m sorry if I ramble and get things muddled up. I found out at therapy today that A will be leaving sometime between October and November. So that is when my therapy will end. My immediate thoughts are:

  1. I’ve been given plenty of notice this time (I had a few therapy sessions a couple of years ago and was suddenly told that that session would be my last because my therapist had gotten a new job.) At least this time I know that its coming, I can prepare myself.
  2. Its still a long way off yet. I have plenty of sessions left. I’ll work hard and make the most of my remaining therapy.
  3. I knew it would end at some point, at least I know when this time.
  4. I now have a deadline, I have to improve as much as possible by October/November.
  5. How will I get on once therapy has ended? Will I keep tackling my anxiety or will I slip?
  6. If I do slip will I have another 6 month wait for more therapy?
  7. I’ll be ok. I’ll use what I have learnt at therapy to help me in the future.
  8. Therapy isn’t the only thing that has helped me. Healthy eating, blogging, Twitter, karate, setting myself goals and making my bucket list have also helped me a great deal and I can continue doing all of those things.

I’m very mixed up right now but the main emotions I am feeling are;

  • Acceptance I knew it was coming one day.
  • Sadness I like A and I’ll miss our sessions.
  • Dread That’s normal right?
  • Gratitude I feel like therapy has helped me get to where I am now.
  • Hope That I can keep reducing my anxiety alone.

Have you been in a situation like this? I would love to hear from you!

Take care,

Hayley x

4 thoughts on “Thinking out loud

  1. I would ask, if you haven’t already, what this means for you long-term in terms of how to prepare.

    Funny enough, I am sitting in the waiting room of Matt’s new (as of April) psychiatrist. I am glad you got this much notice at least.

    • Yeah at least I wasn’t told “This is your last session” like last time!

      Good point! I didn’t ask that but will make a note for next time, thanks 🙂

  2. I can’t believe they didn’t give you any notice last time. That’s terrible!! I’d would ask about the long-term too. I’d probably also come up with a back up plan. I knew my psychotherapy would end, so I made sure I was lined up with a psychiatrist by the time therapy ended. He only sees me once a month, if that, but it’s better than nothing.

    • Yeah I’m glad that this time I can plan =) Not sure what to do right now but I have plenty of time to think about it and I can ask A what he thinks.

Leave a Reply

