Self Esteem Challenge: Day 7

Day 7: Do you think you care too much about what others think? If so how can you change that?

I think the simple answer to that is yes! This question is really relevant because lately I have noticed that I do care a lot about what others think. With my mental health I especially care about what my family and friends think. It can be easy to think of myself as an outsider, none of my friends or immediate family have experienced mental health problems, so they find it hard to understand. The place where I feel like I belong is on Twitter because so many of you are going through the same thing and there is no judgement. Ironically this sometimes makes me feel even lonelier in “real life”. I can talk to people I have never met about my anxiety but not my own parents. It feels like a taboo subject with them. I care what they think and I want their approval. How can I change that? I honestly don’t know. I can try to care less but there isn’t a magic button. Its something for me to work on I guess.

I don’t know who the guy in the below photo is, but he is spot on!

quote-people-who-say-they-don-t-care-what-people-think-are-usually-desperate-to-have-people-think-they-george-carlin-31571

Take care,

Hayley x

3 thoughts on “Self Esteem Challenge: Day 7

  1. It’s hard not to care about what people think. It has always been something that has given me a lot of stress. Your quote is from George Carlin, he’s an American comedian. I know him from Shinning Time Station, a kid’s show he played a magical conductor in. Frenchie from Grease was in the show too.

    • Ah ok, thanks for the info =) Its so natural to care what other people think, its not as simple as saying “I don’t care anymore.” Its something to work on I suppose.

  2. I too am able to tell people I don’t even know about my anxiety, yet going to my parents is very difficult. I am very close to them but this seems like the one thing that is hard to open up about.

Leave a Reply

