Self Esteem Challenge: Day 9

Day 9: Do you have genuine respect for yourself and who you are as an individual? and if so not how can you change that?

I have to be honest… I groaned when I saw this question! Do I have genuine respect for myself? If I had genuine respect for myself would I be trying to change myself? With bucket lists and challenges and therapy, if I did/do respect who I am right now would I not just continue being the way I am without trying to change? Then I started to look at that argument from another angle. I respect myself enough to realize that I deserved better and that I was capable of tackling my anxiety. If I didn’t have respect for myself I wouldn’t have seen the point in changing. I would have thought that I didn’t deserve better and I wasn’t capable of changing my situation.

Well I was capable and I’m continuing to prove that to myself. Its an ongoing process but I’m determined and stubborn! I think in a roundabout way my answer to the above question is YES. I respect myself enough to want better and deep down I believe that I will get there one day.

Take care,

Hayley x

3 thoughts on “Self Esteem Challenge: Day 9

  1. Yes, I know what you’re talking about! I so admire you for doing this self-esteem challenge. You WILL get there, Hayley. I can see you fostering your self-respect in your self-talk. You are a leader and a source of light, and as you heal yourself, you’ll help others heal themselves too. ❤ :O)

Leave a Reply

