Self Esteem Challenge: Day 11

Day 11: Is your self talk negative or positive? If it is negative what are some more positive ways to talk to yourself?

I’m assuming that self talk is different to the “inner talk” of my inner self that I wrote about yesterday. To me inner talk is that little voice that pops up that we have no control over. Gut instinct, intuition or whatever you want to call it. Self talk is the way that we talk to ourselves inside our own heads. The ongoing narrative in our head as we do day to day things.

My self talk tends to change depending on my mood. If I’m having a good day, my self talk is more forgiving. I’ll make a mistake and tell myself that its ok, I just need to try again. I’ll be positive and upbeat. However, if I’m not having a good day my self talk can turn nasty very quickly! I’m sarcastic and critical. I ask myself why can’t I do anything right? Why can’t I just be normal? Why do I have to make a mess of everything? Its normally at this point that I tell myself to shut up! Is it normal to argue with yourself? I do it all the time!

a98fa9ea1b4e7dd45e4f0b3fbb95aebd

I guess that old saying is right, everyone can be their own worst enemy. So how can we stop talking to ourselves so negatively? One thing that I have started doing is asking myself “Would I say that to another person?” and the answer is usually “God no! That’s so mean!”. Then why am I saying it to myself? It works to a certain extent. I guess I just have to keep practicing =)

I want to leave you all with this. Call it my Thought Of The Day…

against-yourself

Take care,

Hayley x

2 thoughts on “Self Esteem Challenge: Day 11

  1. I like both of those sayings, and very good point about how we treat others vs. ourselves. Thank you for the reminders today 🙂

Leave a Reply

