Ticking off: Go to the theatre

Today I can tick something big off my bucket list. The funny thing is I didn’t know I would be doing this until two days ago. The Lion King is coming to my local theatre. The shows are all practically sold out! I thought I had missed out, as all the decent seats were gone and I like to sit near the end of the row. Its a safety behaviour, I feel calmer if I know I can get out easily, without disrupting other people. The company my dad works for have been helping to advertise The Lion King and out of the blue his company were given some free tickets for the dressed rehearsal! Only a couple of hundred tickets were made available, it was a kind of “warm up” performance before the real shows started. So me and my Mam went =D

I was nervous but I’m at the point now that I know it is just anticipatory anxiety and that 90% of the time I am fine. I was tested pretty early on but I think I handled it well. We had to queue in the lobby (I think that’s the right word?) and it was really crowded. One of my triggers is claustrophobia and I did start to feel uneasy. Luckily I was next to the stairwell that goes to a different part of the building so I knew there was an open space that I could easily reach. If I had been on the other side of the room, up against the wall, I would have been really panicking. There was a man behind me who kept tutting and looking at his watch, we were waiting in this room for about 20 minutes. He helpfully said to his partner “Get ready, when they open the door it’ll be like the charge the light brigade! Everyone will rush forward and squish through.” That didn’t help my anxiety and I silently willed him to SHUT UP! I’m glad to say there was no charging, no rushing and no squishing. When we were being shown to our row, my mam asked the steward if there was any way we could sit on the end because I’m claustrophobic. He kindly found us two seats right on the end, it really helped me relax. Its funny how little things can make a big difference.

The show was incredible! I loved it and I’m really pleased to be able to tick “Go to the theatre” off my list. I feel more confident now about tackling similar things on my list, I think a trip to the cinema will be next! I bought myself a Lion King mug so that every time use it I can remember today =) I’ve been really down the last couple of weeks and I needed this boost. Right now I feel great and I hope it will last!

Hakuna Matata!

Hayley x

4 thoughts on “Ticking off: Go to the theatre

  1. I am so happy for you, chickadee!

    How great an idea to use the mug, both as a reminder of the great show but as part of your toolkit and to help keep up the empowerment.

    You rock! 🙂

Leave a Reply

