Sudden realisation

In a couple of days I’ll be starting my new project. I haven’t said very much about it yet so I figured I should write a post explaining what’s going on. It started a few weeks ago when I had a sudden realisation. I had just completed another challenge on my bucket list. I knew that I should be pleased but I wasn’t, I felt weirdly gloomy and I couldn’t shift the feeling. I started asking myself questions. I have achieved so much this year, what more did I want? The answer popped straight into my mind. I want to be happy.

I always assumed that if I got a grip on my anxiety I would be happy. I am in a much better place now compared to a year ago. I am pleased with that but at the same time I find myself losing my motivation. Over the last few weeks I have realised a few important things:

  1. Reducing my anxiety does help to make me happier but its one piece in a puzzle. Focusing solely on my anxiety won’t greatly improve my happiness.
  2. When I feel happy I find it easier to tackle my anxiety. I remember reading once that a person’s happiness and resilience are closely linked. That makes sense to me, when I am happy I am more motivated, positive and able to cope with my fears.
  3. It feels good to tackle my anxiety and tick items off my bucket list but it can also be exhausting.
  4. My anxiety effects my happiness and vice versa.
  5. If I want to be able to keep facing my fears I have to focus on my happiness too as one can effect the other.

happiness-quote-

A few months ago I wrote this post where I made a list of personal commandments. It was an idea that I took from the book The Happiness Project by Gretchin Rubin. At the time I said I was intrigued by the idea of a Happiness Project but that I needed to focus on my mental health, not my happiness. I realise now that the two are interlinked so on my 24th birthday (Saturday) I will be starting a Happiness Project. I’m determined to make my 24th year a really good one!

I’ll be explaining more about how it works in the next few days. Have you ever started a Happiness Project? If so I’d love to hear from you!

Take care,

Hayley x

4 thoughts on “Sudden realisation

  1. I need to start a Happiness Project. Seriously. I will be 38 before too much longer and with all the changes that have happened in even the last few months I need to do something to think ahead.

    Looking forward to seeing what you have in store! 🙂

Leave a Reply

