Book review: Feel The Fear And Do It Anyway

Well-being Book Club got off to a great start this month! We were reading Feel The Fear And Do It Anyway by Susan Jeffers.

Feel the Fear

I had read the book before, over a year ago and then I found parts of it very useful. I have changed a lot in the time since I last read the book and upon reading it again, I found it even more relevant and useful! I guess this is because I had the chance of a new job, the hours and responsibilities scared me a bit but it was the perfect job for me! I have delayed writing this post because I wanted to be able to confirm whether or not I got the job. The answer? Erm, I don’t know, doesn’t look like it… But that is a post for another day!

One of the chapters that I found most thought provoking was the one about taking responsibility for ourselves. Do I always take responsibility or do I give up opportunities for fear that it will make my anxiety worse? I’ve definitely been guilty of that in the past but I’m trying to change that. Here are a couple of quotes that really spoke to me:

The knowledge that you can handle anything that comes your way is the key to allowing yourself to take healthy, life-affirming risks.

Taking responsibility means figuring out what you want in life and acting on it.

I also really enjoyed the chapter on saying YES to your universe. It made me realise that I can say yes to my anxiety. That doesn’t mean that I am going to put up with my anxiety or stop trying to progress. It means that I can accept myself as I am, while continuing to move forward and “acting as if I count”, another interesting idea from the book.

Another idea that I will be taking from the book is the Whole Life Grid. I wanted to make one and link it to this post but because my job situation is still uncertain, it made sense to wait until I know what is happening. But once everything is more stable I will definitely make one.

To sum up, there are lots of interesting ideas and exercises in this book that are definitely worth trying. The book helped give me the confidence to attend the job interview, so it appears that this time it hasn’t paid off but it gave me a boost. I’m experiencing for myself a “No lose decision”. I got confidence, experience, the knowledge that I can handle interviews and that I’ll be able the job, once the right one comes along. That is the the main thing I am taking from this book:

I CAN HANDLE IT!

Hayley x

2 thoughts on “Book review: Feel The Fear And Do It Anyway

  1. I need to find this one, thanks for the info!

    Hope you are doing well, I haven’t had a chance to follow up with you recently 😀

  2. Pingback: Book Club Reviews: Feel The Fear And Do It Anyway | Calm Kitchen

Leave a Reply

